Islamic Calendar 2020

*display month-wise calendar (marked with expected important religious dates)

The Islamic Calendar

The Islamic calendar is used by Muslims all around the world. In some countries gulf countries like Saudi Arabia, it is deemed as the official calendar. Remaining Muslim countries mostly refer to this calendar for the observance of religious holidays and rituals.

The Islamic calendar is also referred to as the Lunar, Muslim or Hijri calendar. It differs from the Georgian calendar in the regards that this calendar is based on the moon. It is also based on 12 months however only contains 354 days. Each month begins on the sighting of the moon.

The Islamic year of 1441 began on 1st September of 2019 and will end on 20th August 2020 (*subject to moon sighting).

Key Islamic Dates for Islamic Calendar 2020 (as per Hijri calendar 1441 & 1442):

  • Apr 22, 2020 Ramadan (start)
  • May 19, 2020 Laylat al Qadr
  • May 24, 2020 Eid-al-Fitr (End of Ramadan)
  • Jul 31, 2020 Eid-al-Adha
  • Aug 10, 2020 Waqf al Arafa - Hajj
  • Aug 20, 2020 Hijra - Islamic New Year
  • Aug 30, 2020 Day of Ashura / Muharram

* These dates are subject to moon sightings.

Islamic Months (Chronological Order):

The 12 months of the Islamic Calendar are as follows

  1. Muharram
  2. Safar
  3. Rabi' al-awwal
  4. Rabi' al-thani
  5. Jumada al-awwal
  6. Jumada al-thani
  7. Rajab
  8. Sha'ban
  9. Ramadan
  10. Shawwal
  11. Dhu al-Qi'dah
  12. Dhu al-Hijjah